APPENDIX.

Information received since the parts of the book which deal with the subjects mentioned were sent to press is given below :--

PART I.—CONSTITUTION AND GOVERNMENT.

ELECTIONS FOR THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL, 1919.

At the last triennial elections for the Legislative Council, held on 5th June, 1919, five seats were contested, twelve members being returned unopposed. The following table shows the number of electors on the rolls for each province and the number who voted in the provinces where elections were held :---

NUMBER OF ELECTORS AND VOTES POLLED AT THE TRIENNIAL ELECTIONS FOR THE LEGISLATIVE COUNCIL ON 5TH JUNE, 1919.

Province.	Number of Electors on Rolls.	Number of Electors who voted.			ln-	Number who	Pro- portion of
		Rate- payers.	Non- ratepayers.	Total.	formal Votes.	voted by Post.	Electors who voted.
East Yarra	34,860	8,548	10	8,558	75	15	24.54
Melbourne	19,823	8,543		8,543	83	76	43.09
" East	19,823	3,492		3,492	35	2	17.61
" North	32,995	12,437	14	12,451	497	101	37.73
" South	25,290	· · ·		Uncontested			
"West	27,541		· · ·	· ,,			
Bendigo	10,682		•• '	,,			
Gippsland	13,528	i					
Nelson	10,452	•.•	1	,,	_		
Northern	12,965		· · ·	,,			
North-Eastern	13,076	·	1	,,			
North-Western	16,646			,,			
Southern	13,843		••	,,			
South-Eastern	25,557	7,345	4	7,349	103	43	28.75
South-Western	16,903			Uncontested			
Wellington	10,344		•••	,,			
Western	13,265		••	"			
	317,593	Ì					
Less uncontested provinces (12)	184,535						
Total	133,058	40,365	28	40,393	793	237	30.35

616

<u> ೧---೧೯೮೧</u>